Week 19 – Lemon Chicken Curry

My grandmother used to cook lemon chicken for me, and it was one of my absolute favorite dishes.  I can’t even remember the last time I had it, so I wanted to try my hand at it.  I can’t describe how upset I was when my dad told me he couldn’t find her recipe.  There are so many things I miss about having my Grandma here, and knowing that I will never get to eat lemon chicken again really saddens me.  So after scouring the interwebs for something that looked similar, this recipe is the best I can find.  Not exactly the same thing, but no one does it like G-ma!

RECIPE:

From http://cookinginwestchester.com/2010/05/creamy-lemon-chicken-curry.html

Ingredients

2-3 tablespoons cooking oil
1 onion, cut into a dice
1 tablespoon of finely grated ginger
1 tablespoon grated fresh garlic
1 teaspoon red chili pepper flakes
1 teaspoon powdered cumin
1 teaspoon powdered coriander
1 teaspoon salt
1 large tomato, coarsely chopped
1 cup water
1 lemon
1-2 pods cardamom
1/2 cup heavy cream
1 green bell pepper, thinly sliced
1/2 cup of frozen green peas
1.5 cup cooked chicken, cut into small pieces
1-2 tablespoons chopped cilantro
Lots of freshly ground black pepper

Method of Preparation

1. Heat the oil and add the onions, garlic and ginger and cook for 5 minutes, stirring occasionally until the mixture is very fragrant, and the onions soften start turning golden on the edges.
2. Add in the red chili pepper flakes, cumin, coriander, salt and tomato and cook stirring occasionally for another 5 minutes, until the tomato is soft and mushy.
3. Place the mixtur in a blender with the water and blend until nice and smooth.
4. Return the sauce into the cooking pot. Cut the lemon and squeeze in the juice.
5. Add in the cardamoms, cream, bell peppers, peas and the chicken and simmer the mixture on low for 10 minutes.
6. Remove from the heat, stir in the cilantro and place in a serving bowl.
7. Add freshly ground black pepper and serve with rice.

RESULTS:

It turned out really well.  Again, still not exactly the same, but it’s maybe the closest I can get.  As with all my curries, I have ginger-garlic paste that I use instead of making my own.  I omitted the cilantro and peppers and substituted heavy cream with milk (didn’t have any cream!) and peas with broccoli florets.  I also added lemon zest, which is something I recall from Grandma’s dish.  I will DEFINITELY be making this one again.  Delishy.

image

One thought on “Week 19 – Lemon Chicken Curry

Leave a Reply

